This is the "Welcome
Students!" page of the "Environmental History " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Environmental History  

Last Updated: Oct 8, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.oglethorpe.edu/EnvironmentalHistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Students! Print Page
  Search: 
 

Historic Newspaper Resources

GALILEO includes numerous newspaper databases. Two that include local, historic material are highlighted below. For a complete list of newspaper resources, please click here or visit http://www.galileo.usg.edu/scholar/oglethorpe/types/newspapers/.

 

American Memory from the Library of Congress

American Memory from the Library of Congress is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture. The original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.

 

Census Records

The Ancestry Library Edition (only available on-campus) collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as: U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1940; Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and Civil War Collection.

 

Bibliography of Atlanta History

Cover Art
Atlanta and Environs: A Chronicle of Its People and Events - Franklin M. Garrett
Call Number: F294 .A8 G3 v.1-3 (Reference)
ISBN: 9780820339030

Atlanta Centennial Year Book, 1837-1937
Call Number: F294 .A8 A8 (Special Collections)

Atlanta History (Journal)
Call Number: Shelved at Periodicals
Atlanta History was published from 1987-2006. From 1978-1986, it was known as Atlanta Historical Journal.

Atlanta Resurgens - First National Bank of Atlanta
Call Number: FOLIO F294 .A8 A867

Cover Art
Atlanta Rising: The Invention of an International City, 1946-1996 - Frederick Allen
Call Number: F294 .A857 A874 1996
ISBN: 1563522969

Atlanta, Triumph of a People: An Illustrated History - Norman Shavin and Bruce Galphin
Call Number: FOLIO F294 .A8 S42

Atlanta: A City of the Modern South - Federal Writers' Project Staff
Call Number: F294 .A8 W8
ISBN: 0403022002

Cover Art
Atlanta: An Illustrated History - Andy Ambrose; John Lewis (Foreword by)
Call Number: F294 .A857 A44 2003
ISBN: 9781588180865

Atlanta: Its Lore, Legends, and Laughter - Elise Boylston
Call Number: F294 .A8 B6
ISBN: 19970414190035

Coca-Cola: An Illustrated History - Pat Watters
Call Number: HD9349 .C62 U58
ISBN: 0385134991

Greater Atlanta: A Shared Destiny - Darlene Roth; Lori Parks (Editor)
Call Number: F294 .A857 R67 2000
ISBN: 9781886483286

Cover Art
Living Atlanta: An Oral History of the City, 1914-1948 - Clifford M. Kuhn, Harlon E. Joye, and E. Bernard West; Michael L. Lomax (Foreword by)
Call Number: F294 .A857 K84 1990
ISBN: 0820311618

My 80 Years in Atlanta - Sarah Huff
Call Number: F294 .A8 H82 (Special Collections)

Old Atlanta - Norman Shavin
Call Number: FOLIO F294 .A8 S48

Strangers Within the Gate City: The Jews of Atlanta, 1845-1915 - Steven Hertzberg
Call Number: F294 .A89 J54
ISBN: 0827601026

Cover Art
The Winecoff Fire: The Untold Story of America’s Deadliest Hotel Fire - Sam Heys and Allen Goodwin
Call Number: F294 .A857 H49 1993 (Archives)
ISBN: 1563520699

Vanishing DeKalb - DeKalb Historical Society Staff; Dorothy Nix (Introduction by)
Call Number: FOLIO F292 .D3 V36 1985
ISBN: 9780961545901

Cover Art
Where Peachtree Meets Sweet Auburn - Gary M. Pomerantz
Call Number: F294 .A853 A28 1996
ISBN: 0140265090

 

Directory of Historical and Cultural Organizations

The Historical and Cultural Organizations Directory provides links and information for over 600 cultural and historical institutions statewide. This includes archives, libraries, museums, historical societies, and historic sites.

 

GALILEO Archives and Primary Source Resources

GALILEO provides a list of databases that include both archival and primary sources resources available. For the complete list click here or visit http://www.galileo.usg.edu/scholar/oglethorpe/types/archives-primary-sources/.

If you are off-campus and need to access GALILEO, click here or visit http://library.oglethorpe.edu/help/galileo-password/.

 

Architectural Database

The Kenan Research Center at the Atlanta History Center maintains a significant collection of architectural drawings produced by prominent Atlanta firms.

To access the database of approximately 3,750 jobs dating from 1823 to 1996, click here or visit http://architect.atlantahistorycenter.com/.

 

Digital Library of Georgia

The Digital Library of Georgia is a gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources. It connects users to a million digital objects in more than 200 collections from 60 institutions and 100 government agencies.

 

Bill Wilson Photography Collection

The Bill Wilson Photography Collection at the Atlanta History Center is comprised of original negatives, copy prints, and copy negatives created by Bill Wilson and other artists and photographers, whose works were collected by Wilson. The collection offers important documentation on a wide variety of personalities, events, and geographic locations both in Atlanta and throughout Georgia. Most of the material is captured on acetate film and color transparencies. 

To access the finding aid for this collection, please click here.

 

Select Images of Oglethorpe University

Site of Future Campus, ca. 1914
Courtesy of Oglethorpe University Archives

Administration Building (later Phoebe Hearst Hall) Future Site, ca. 1914
Courtesy of Oglethorpe University Archives

Driveway of Oglethorpe University, ca. 1927
Courtesy of Oglethorpe University Archives

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip