What Is GALILEO?
GALILEO stands for Georgia Library Learning Online. GALILEO is essentially a portal through which you can access more than one hundred article databases. GALILEO's article databases prvide scholarly articles, magazines, news articles, and more!
GALILEO is a useful tool because you can conduct research from the comfort of your own home!
You can access GALILEO from the Library Homepage by clicking on the icon or links.
Can't Find the Full-Text Article Online?
If you find an article citation that you like, but it is not available in full-text, try:
- First check our Journal Finder. Type in the name of the Journal, not the title of the individual article. See if the particular issue you need is available in print at the library or in a database.
- If it is not available through our Journal Finder, try searching the title of the article in Google Scholar. Occasionally authors will make their writings available for free online.
- If it is not available, we can Interlibrary Loan the material for you. This generally takes 3-5 business days if it is coming from within Georgia.
What Is a Database?
Article databases provide access to information about magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals. Sometimes an article database only provides bibliographic (citation) information, while at other times one can access the full-text version of the article.
Aside from articles, databases may offer images, book chapters and reviews, and digitized materials. Examples of databases include Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, PsycINFO, and MLA International Bibliography.
Most of these tutorials are produced by GALILEO and are linked to YouTube. They require sound. The tutorials on this page generally range from 2 to 5 minutes in length.
GALILEO Tutorial without Sound
This tutorial is a written set of instructions to help guide one through GALILEO.
Tutorials to Help with Database Search Methods
Some of these tutorials may require sound.