This guide provides general information about researching for American Studies.
Last Updated: Nov 12, 2013
Welcome to the American Studies Research Guide! This is a starting point for help with projects in American Studies, including literature, history, and economic topics.
If you would like to schedule a research appointment, please contact the librarian, or call the library.
The Research Process
- Formulate your question -- list key words to use in your searches
- Find background information (see Reference section below)
- Refine your search topic
- Consider your resource options -- what type of materials do you need to answer your questions?
- Select and use the appropriate research tool (such as books or article databases in GALILEO)
- Locate your materials
- Analyze your materials
- Organize and write your paper
- Compose your bibliography and cite your work properly
For more detailed help with the research process, see USG's Starting Your Search.
The databases listed here are part of the database offerings in GALILEO, Georgia's Virtual Library
- Annals of American History (Encyclopaedia Brittanica)
Annals of American History includes the full text of primary documents in American history, including historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials, landmark court decisions, and cultural criticism. This resource also has multimedia files, including hundreds of images and video and audio clips of famous speeches.
- American National Biography
The American National Biography is a biographical encyclopedia of significant persons, no longer living, who have influenced the direction of American history. Many of the 17,435 original biographies include an illustration or photograph of the person.
- History Reference Center
History Reference Center is a full-text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video.
- The Encyclopædia Britannica
The Encyclopædia Britannica database includes thousands of articles from the printed Encyclopædia Britannica, including thousands more that are not found in the print set.
- The New Georgia Encyclopedia
The New Georgia Encyclopedia provides access to authoritative information on people, places, events, history, and other topics about the state of Georgia. The site includes articles and images on every aspect of the state and includes links to related Internet sites.
- Oxford English Dictionary
"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium." The OED gives definitions, etymological analysis, and quotations to demonstrate the use of words in the English language over time.
Philip Weltner Library
404-364-8506 (reference)Send Email