This is the "Oglethorpe University Archives
and Special Collections" page of the "Using the University Archives and Primary Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Using the University Archives and Primary Sources  

Last Updated: Aug 27, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.oglethorpe.edu/archives Print Guide RSS Updates

Oglethorpe University Archives and Special Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This Research Guide will provide you a brief introduction to Philip Weltner Library's Archives and Special Collections and how you can incorporate primary source research into your academic work. It will explain what is a primary source and what types of primary sources are at the Archives. This guide will also show you how to read a collection finding aid.

University Archives

The Archives of the Philip Weltner Library supports the purposes and goals of Oglethorpe University by identifying, collecting, preserving, arranging, describing, and providing access to documents, records, and publications of enduring value relating to the growth and development of the University from its beginnings in Midway, Georgia in 1835 to the present. It further seeks to encourage the preservation of our cultural heritage and to promote an appreciation of the value of archival primary sources in scholarly research. The Archives is located on the garden level Lowry Hall and is open by appointment during regular Library hours. Please call 404-364-8514 to make an appointment.

      
     

    Special Collections

    Oglethorpe's Special Collections include items written by Oglethorpe University faculty, staff, and alumni as well as items of historical significance to the University or the State of Georgia. They also include material about the University and rare or valuable items.

    Access to the Special Collections is by appointment only, and items do not circulate. All Special Collections material must be used in the library supervised by a library staff member.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip