Skip to main content
site header image

Online Tutorials - Help with GALILEO and Conducting Research: Top Databases to Start with in GALILEO

Off-Campus Access

If you are off campus and need access to GALILEO, see the GALILEO Password and Off-Campus Access page.

Many of the links on these pages go to subscription resources which are restricted to Oglethorpe students, faculty, and staff. To access these resources from off-campus you need the GALILEO password.

Can't Find the Full-Text Article Online?

If you find an article citation that you like, but it is not available in full-text, try:

  1. First check our Journal Finder. Type in the name of the Journal, not the title of the individual article. See if the particular issue you need is available in print at the library or in a database.

  2. If it is not available through our Journal Finder, try searching the title of the article in Google Scholar. Occasionally authors will make their writings available for free online.

  3. If it is not available, we can Interlibrary Loan the material for you. This generally takes 3-5 business days if it is coming from within Georgia.

Top Resources

This list is NOT comprehensive. To get the best databases for your topic:

  1. Go to the GALILEO homepage
  2. Click on your subject area in which you are doing research (for example, Arts and Humanities --> Art)
  3. This will give you a list of recommended article databases to search.
  4. Try searching in at least 3 or 4 databases. Try different search terms and experiment with the pull-down feature to search by full-text and by title
  5. Contact the librarian if you would like assistance

 

Academic Search Complete     Requires GALILEO password  
(Useful for almost every topic of research)
"Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals."

  

JSTOR    
(Useful for humanities and biological sciences research)
Access to more than 780 journals in the humanities and biological sciences, especially focusing on journals in botany and ecology. In Advanced Search, you can limit it to types of journals you want to search. JSTOR is also great for art topics.

 

Project Muse      Requires GALILEO password
(Useful for the humanities and social science research)
"Project Muse offers over 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Online editions are often available earlier than print editions."

 

ERIC (at EBSCOhost)        Requires GALILEO password  
(Useful for Education-related topics)
"The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) database covers all aspects of education and educational research. ERIC provides access to education-related resources, including journal and non-journal bibliographic information. Coverage Dates: 1966 – present (though not all articles are full-text)."

 

Medline with Full Text     Requires GALILEO password  
(Useful for medical and biological sciences research)

"MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals."

 

PsycINFO     Requires GALILEO password  
(Useful for Psychology-related topics)
"PsycINFO, American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries, and ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed."