Skip to main content
site header image

Politics and Government: Find Articles

Can't Find the Full-Text Article Online?

If you find an article citation that you like, but it is not available in full-text, try:

  1. First check our Journal Finder. Type in the name of the Journal, not the title of the individual article. See if the particular issue you need is available in print at the library or in a database.

  2. If it is not available through our Journal Finder, try searching the title of the article in Google Scholar. Occasionally authors will make their writings available for free online.

  3. If it is not available, we can Interlibrary Loan the material for you. This generally takes 3-5 business days if it is coming from within Georgia.

Off-Campus Access

If you are off campus and need access to GALILEO, see the GALILEO Password and Off-Campus Access page.

 

Many of the links on these pages go to subscription resources which are restricted to Oglethorpe students, faculty, and staff. To access these resources from off-campus you need the GALILEO password.

 

World map, in the public domain. Created by CIA World Factbook, available through Wikimedia Commons.

Recommended Article Databases

Try searching at least 3 or 4 article databases. If you are unsuccessful, try synonyms for your search terms. Also, experiment with the drop-down box next to the search fields -- try searching by full-text, then title. Please contact the librarian for assistance.

Search tip: Come up with two or three major concepts for your search terms. Enter one search phrase in each search box.

 

Academic Search Complete    

"Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals."

  

Research Library (ProQuest)    

"Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers."

 

Asian & European Business Collection    

"ProQuest Asian & European Business Collection provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, and markets as well as international trade and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions."

 

LexisNexis Academic  

"LexisNexis Academic contains thousands of publications, virtually all include full text. This is a great resource to find newspaper articles (from 1980-present). Many types of publications are included: newspapers (in English, other languages, and translations of international papers), legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, company financial information, transcripts, wire service reports, government publications, and much more."

 

JSTOR    

"JSTOR provides access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The complete backfiles of these journals have been digitized, many of which began in the 1800s."

For Even More Databases...

For more databases on this topic:

  1. Go to GALILEO
  2. Select your subject (Social Sciences --> International Studies OR Political Science and Public Administration).
  3. This will give you a large list of databases in which you can search.