U.S. and international population and country data, as well as statistics on disease and health, energy use, labor and work force, and also public opinion polls.
Last Updated: Jul 24, 2016
Our Journal Finder, available on our homepage, is a great place to find country studies. To begin your search:
- Go to our Journal Finder.
- Search for the name of the country in the search box.
- A result list, featuring titles of country studies or reviews, will be displayed. Underneath each title the database in which the country study is found will be displayed. Click on a country study of interest.
- This will open the database screen, where you can see a little information about the publication, as well as issues listed.
- Click on the issue number that you would like to look at for full-text access.
- CIA World Factbook
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map." Published by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) -- search by country.
- World Data Analyst (from Encyclopædia Britannica) -- Requires GALILEO password
World Data Analyst includes current and historical statistics on many countries of the world. Highlights of the database include the following:
■Country Snapshots -- maps and statistics
■Country Comparisons -- create tables and graphs comparing countries using recent and historical statistics
■Ranked Statistics -- compare economic or population measures or significant geographic features
Users can use tools in the database to create tables and charts and export the information.
- International Travel Information -- by the U.S. Department of State
This site provides information about traveling to international countries, including health and safety information. Also included are tips for traveling and living abroad and document requirements.
- Country Studies -- Library of Congress
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.