Books in the Philip Weltner Library
Subject Headings to Help Your Search
When searching for books and articles, use these search terms instead of keywords.
Immigrants -- United States Biography.
United States -- Emigration and immigration
United States -- Emigration and immigration -- Case studies
Note: The terms are used to mean immigration (migration to a country) and emigration (migration from a country) or the combination of the two (not international migration).
Online Resources - Collections, Stories, History
Castle Garden - Castle Garden.org is an educational project of The Battery Conservancy. This free site offers access to an extraordinary database of information on 11 million immigrants from 1820 through 1892, the year Ellis Island opened. More than 100 million Americans can trace their ancestors to this early immigration period.
Ellis Island - Provides information on the history of Ellis Island and the Ellis Island Foundation.
American Memory - American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Dillingham Commission (1907–1910) - The United States Immigration Commission, known as the "Dillingham Commission", was formed in response to growing political concern about immigration in the United States. Under the leadership of Vermont Senator William Paul Dillingham, the joint House-Senate commission included US Senators Henry Cabot Lodge and Asbury Latimer; US Representatives Benjamin Howell, William Bennett, and John Burnett; and Charles Neill of the US Department of Labor, Jeremiah Jenks of Cornell University, and William Wheeler, the California Commissioner of Immigration.
Finnish-American Archives - Along with archival materials, the collection includes genealogical resources, information about Finnish culture, artifacts, and North America’s largest collection of Finnish-American artwork.
Immigration to the United States - Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs. By incorporating diaries, biographies, and other writings capturing diverse experiences, the collected material provides a window into the lives of ordinary immigrants.
Pew Research Center - Immigration - The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis, and other empirical social science research. The Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
Immigration History Center - Founded in 1965, the Immigration History Research Center (IHRC) aims to transform the way in which we understand immigration in the past and present. Along with its partner, the IHRC Archives (University Libraries), it is the oldest and largest interdisciplinary research center and archives devoted to preserving and understanding immigrant and refugee life in North America.
Red Star Line Museum - Two million passengers travelled from Antwerp, the Red Star Line's main European port, to North America on board Red Star Line ships. The museum focuses on their stories, that of the Red Star Line that transported them and that of Antwerp, the city and port from which they embarked on their journeys.
Carribean Sea Migration Project - Between 1982 and 2012, the United States Coast Guard interdicted 222,315 persons on the Caribbean Sea or the adjacent Florida Straits and Mona Passage. This number includes 69,355 Cubans; 36,536 Dominicans; and 116,424 Haitians. Tens of thousands more reached Florida or Puerto Rico without being intercepted. Add to that the tens of thousands who died en route.The Caribbean Sea Migration Collection documents the history of these mariners. The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library wishes to thank the individuals who have donated materials to the Collection including Holly Ackerman, Stephen Brown, Dr. Elizabeth Campisi, Siro del Castillo, Guarioné Díaz, Mariela Ferrer Jewett, and Lourdes Zayas-Bazán.
New American Media - New America Media is the country's first and largest national collaboration and advocate of 3,000 ethnic news organizations. Over 57 million ethnic adults connect to each other, to home countries and to America through 3000+ ethnic media outlets, the fastest growing sector of American journalism. Founded by the nonprofit Pacific News Service in 1996, NAM is headquartered in California with offices in New York and Washington D.C., and partnerships with journalism schools to grow local associations of ethnic media.
American Immigration Council - The American Immigration Council (“Council”), a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, is a powerful voice in promoting laws, policies, and attitudes that honor our proud history as a nation of immigrants. Through research and policy analysis, litigation and communications, and international exchange, the Council seeks to shape a twenty-first century vision of the American immigrant experience.
Made in America - Compiles, presents, and shares stories related to immigration that generate a positive understanding of the ways that immigrants build the strength and vitality of the U.S. and the Silicon Valley area in particular.
Tenement Museum (NYC) - The Tenement Museum preserves and interprets the history of immigration through the personal experiences of the generations of newcomers who settled in and built lives on Manhattan's Lower East Side, America's iconic immigrant neighborhood; forges emotional connections between visitors and immigrants past and present; and enhances appreciation for the profound role immigration has played and continues to play in shaping America's evolving national identity.