This is the "Find
Articles" page of the "History of Photography Prof Christina Price Washington ART 291 FA2017" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History of Photography Prof Christina Price Washington ART 291 FA2017   Tags: digital photography, history of photography, photography  

Last Updated: Sep 6, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.oglethorpe.edu/Photography Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Can't Find the Full-Text Article Online? (Important!)

If you find an article citation that you like, but it is not available in full-text, try two things:

 

  1. First check our Journal Finder. Type in the name of the Journal, not the title of the individual article. See if the particular issue you need is available in the physical library or in another online database.

  2. If it is not available through our Journal Finder, try searching the title of the article in Google Scholar. Occasionally authors will make their writings available for free online.

 

If it is not available, we can Interlibrary Loan the material for you. This generally takes 3-5 business days if it is coming from within Georgia.

 

GALILEO Password

If you are off-campus and need to know the current GALILEO password:

  • Go to Your Account (available in our Library Catalog)
  • Enter your Petrel Pass barcode and your last name (if you do not know your barcode number, come by the Circulation desk)
  • Once logged in, click the "Request" button at the top
  • In the center of the Request page, under the box that reads "GALILEO Password," click OK
  • The password will be displayed in the center of the page

Many of the links on these pages go to subscription resources which are restricted to Oglethorpe students, faculty, and staff. To access these resources from off-campus you need the GALILEO password.

 

Discover GALILEO

If you prefer a meta-search, try Discover GALILEO.  It searches across most of GALILEO's databases at one time.

 

Recommended Article Databases

Try searching at least 3 or 4 article databases. If you are unsuccessful, try synonyms for your search terms. Also, experiment with the drop-down box next to the search fields -- try searching by full-text, then title. Please contact the librarian for assistance.

Academic Search Complete    
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals.

JSTOR    
JSTOR provides access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences going back to the 1800s. Coverage of photography is both broad, across many disciplines, and deep, spanning a long period of time.

MLA International Bibliography     

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The interconnections between literature and photography are deep and rich.  MLA indexes materials of all types in the fields of language, literature, linguistics, and folklore including the performing arts and film studies.

Project Muse    
Project MUSE offers over 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Provides access to a wealth of articles and books on photography as it is covered by and used in many different disciplines in the humanities and social sciences.

Research Library (ProQuest)    
Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip