Where to find the latest news and historical news.
Last Updated: Aug 25, 2016
While news sources and newspapers are effective in covering current and up to date happenings, these sources are not considered scholarly and, unless advised by your professor, should be used in research with discretion.
The Library provides access to print copies of current issues of the following newspapers in the reading room:
- Atlanta Business Chronicle
- Atlanta Journal Constitution
- Chronicle of Higher Education
- Le Monde
- New York Review of Books
- New York Times
- New York Times Book Review
- Wall Street Journal
Many newspapers and their archived issues are available through GALILEO. For more newspaper sources in GALILEO, click here.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic contains thousands of publications, virtually all include full text. Many types of publications are available, including newspapers in English, other languages, and translations of international papers.
- New York Times Archive, 1851-1980
"The New York Times Archive allows users to search across the archives of the New York Times from 1851 to 1980. Many articles are available in full text free of charge. Others require a nominal fee to view the full article."
- News & Newspapers (ProQuest)
ProQuest Newspapers offers international, national, regional, and local papers. Detailed indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas and provides access to detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
- Atlanta Historic Newspapers (1847-1922)
The Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive provides online access to fourteen newspaper titles published in Atlanta from 1847 to 1922. The archive includes the following Atlanta newspaper titles: Atlanta Daily Examiner (1857), Atlanta Daily Herald (1873-1876), Atlanta Georgian (1906-1911), Atlanta Intelligencer (1851, 1854-1871), Atlantian (1911-1922), Daily/Georgia Weekly Opinion (1867-1868), Gate-City Guardian (1861), Georgia Literary and Temperance Crusader (1860-1861), and others.
- Athens Historic Newspapers (1827-1922)
The Athens Historic Newspapers Archive provides online access to five newspaper titles published in Athens from 1827 to 1922. Consisting of over 57,000 newspaper pages, the archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date. The archive includes the following Athens newspaper titles: Athenian (1827-1832), Southern Banner (1832-1882), Southern Watchman (1855-1882), Daily/Weekly Banner-Watchman (1882-1889), Daily/Weekly Athens Banner (1889-1922).
- Milledgeville Historic Newspapers Archive (1808-1920)
The Milledgeville Historic Newspapers Archive provides online access to eleven newspaper titles published in Milledgeville from 1808 to 1920. Because Milledgeville served as the state capital from 1804 to 1868, during the antebellum, Civil War, and Reconstruction periods in the state's history, the site will provide researchers with particular historical insight into Georgia politics during the nineteenth century.
This video tutorial is best viewed in a non-Citrix web browser.
If you find a newspaper article citation that you like, but it is not available for free online, first check our Journal Finder.
Type in the name of the Newspaper, not the title of the individual article. See if the particular issue you need is available in the physical library or in another online database.
If it is not available, we can Interlibrary Loan the material for you. This generally takes 3-5 business days if it is coming from within Georgia.