This is the "Find Articles" page of the "American Studies Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Studies Research Guide   Tags: american_history, american_studies  

This guide provides general information about researching for American Studies.
Last Updated: Apr 29, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.oglethorpe.edu/americanstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

GALILEO Password

If you are off-campus and cannot get access to GALILEO, see the GALILEO Password and Off-Campus Access page.

Search Databases in GALILEO

Try searching at least three or four databases – try different search terms (also look below for Suggested Search Terms), and experiment using the drop-down menus to search through the full-text and the title of the article.

For even more databases, go to GALILEO and look at the subjects of History, Social Sciences, and Literature, Language, and Literary Criticism under Browse by Subject (or select other subjects based on your research needs). This will give you suggested databases to search. The databases listed here are part of the database offerings in GALILEO, Georgia's Virtual Library. GALILEO

  • Academic Search Complete
    A multidisciplinary database that contains abstracts and some full-text content. More than 6,000 full-text journals, and more than 10,000 citations. Indexes both scholarly and popular journals.
  • Project Muse
    Full text content of over 220 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. If you go to "Article Search," you can limit your searching to History of Science, Technology, and Medicine journals; Medieval and Renaissance Studies journals; History journals; etc.
  • JSTOR
    Access to more than 780 journals in the humanities and biological sciences. In the Advanced Search, you can limit to type of journals you want to search, such as History of Science and Technology journals.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    A very comprehesive index of publications for modern language and literature. It covers 1964 to present and includes periodicals, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings.
  • ABI/INFORM Collection
    ABI/INFORM Collection is a business database, covering international business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, and competitive and product information. Close to 5,000 journals are indexed, many of which are offered full-text.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    LexisNexis Academic contains thousands of publications, and most are full-text. Many types of publications are included: newspapers (in English, other languages, and translations of international papers), legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, company financial information, transcripts, wire service reports, government publications (such as the federal case law, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Testimony, etc.), and law reviews.
  • Business Search Complete (Business Searching Interface)
    Aside from the ability to search and browse for articles in over 4000 business journals, the Business Searching Interface allows for easy browsing of supplementary content such as company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and author profiles. Business Source Complete provides access to the full text for over 3000 journals covering all aspect of business.
 

Can't Find the Full-Text Article?

If you find an article citation that you like, but it is not available in full-text, first check our Journal Finder.

Type in the name of the Journal, not the title of the individual article. See if the particular issue you need is available in the physical library or in another online database.

If it is not available, we can Interlibrary Loan the material for you. This generally takes 3-5 business days if it is coming from within Georgia.

 

Suggested Search Terms

Aside from your own searching, you may want to try some of these suggested search terms for your searches.

United States History United States Church History United States Social Life and Customs
United States History Colonial Period United States Religion United States in Art
United States History Confederation United States Civilization United States in Literature
United States History Constitutional Period United States. Constitution United States in Motion Pictures
United States History Revolution United States Economic Conditions United States Intellectual Life
United States History Civil War United States Economic Policy American Drama
United States Territorial Expansion United States Emigration and Immigration American Essays
Indians United States Race Relations American Fiction
Indians of North America United States Ethnic Relations American Fiction History and Criticism
United States History, Military United States Foreign Relations American Literature
United States Politics and Government United States Social Policy American Literature History and Criticism
United States Biography United States Social Conditions American Poetry
 

Boolean Operators -- And, Or, Not

Most databases have a Guided, or Advanced, search option that will allow you to easily limit your search terms to specific fields. Boolean operators (and, or, not) are easier to use in this search mode. Additional ways to limit searches are by date, language, peer reviewed journals, and publication.

Refining your search: After your initial few searches, evaluate your results. Are there any aspects of your topic you need to add to your search? Make a note of the subject headings or descriptors attached to your results. You might be able to use these for additional searches. Did you receive too few results? If so, try expanding your search. Limit your search if you retrieved too many records.

Boolean Operator Basics: The Boolean connectors AND, OR, and NOT are often used to combine keywords or concepts when searching electronic databases. Using these operators can make your search more focused, thus yielding more precise search results.

  • AND is a connector that requires both words to be present in each record in your results. For example, searching for Livy AND historiography will only retrieve citations that include both terms. Use AND to narrow your search.
  • OR expands your search by allowing either word to be present in your search results. For example, as search on Livy AND (historiography OR method) will yield the following: All resulting citations will contain the word "Livy." In addition, all results will contain either "historiography" or "method" (or both).
  • NOT is used to exclude terms from your search. For example, if you did not want to find any references to book reviews, you could try searching for Livy NOT "book review"

For more help with boolean operators, see the boolean operators tutorials in the Research Tutorials page.

Need Help Searching?

You may want to look at our Research Tutorials page, which feature videos that help with searching databases.

 

Need More Assistance?

If you need additional help, please contact the reference librarian by coming by the Reference Desk, by calling 404-364-8506, or by emailing librarian@oglethorpe.edu.

 

Civil War Painting

The Storming of Fort Wagner, by Kurz and Allison, ca. July 5, 1890. Public domain image from Wikimedia Commons.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip