This guide provides general information about researching for American Studies.
Last Updated: Apr 29, 2017
These websites are appropriate for general background information and are not intended to replace scholarly research and publications.
- Making of America
"Making of America is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the Antebellum Period through Reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints." Produced by the University of Michigan.
- Literary Resources - American
This directory of American Literary Resources was created by Jack Lynch of Rutgers University.
- Voice of the Shuttle American (U.S.) Studies
This website directory features general American Studies, Anti-Imperialism in the U.S., and rare maps website links. VoS was created by Alan Liu of the University of California, Santa Barbara, English Department.
- The Cambridge History of English and American Literature
"Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, the Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing. The set encompasses a wide selection of writing on orators, humorists, poets, newspaper columnists, religious leaders, economists, Native Americans, song writers, and even non-English writing, such as Yiddish & Creole."
- Library of Congress American Memory Project
Digital collections on advertising, African American history, architecture and landscape, immigration and American expansion, literature, Native American history, religion, sports, war, and many other topics. More than 5 million digital images and files are available.
- The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record
"The approximately 1,235 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery." This site is produced by the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities.
- Early Americas Digital Archive
"The Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) is a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820." See the "Gateway" link for a listing of texts.
- Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives (JARDA)
"Personal and official documents, transcribed oral histories, and works of art bring viewers inside the Japanese-American internment experience during World War II," produced by the Universities of California.
- Academy of American Poets
The mission of the Academy of American Poets is "to support American poets at all stages of their careers and to foster the appreciation of contemporary poetry."
- American Historical Association
"The American Historical Association (AHA) was founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 to serve the broad field of history. It encompasses every historical period and geographical area and serves professional historians in all areas of employment."
- American Literature Association
"The primary purpose of the American Literature Association is the advancement of humanistic learning by encouraging the study of American authors and their works. " This site is maintained by Alfred Bendixen of Princeton University.
- Association for the Study of American Indian Literatures (ASAIL)
"The purpose of the organization shall be to promote study, criticism, and research on the oral traditions and written literatures of Native Americans; to promote the teaching of such traditions and literatures; and to support and encourage contemporary Native American writers and the continuity of Native oral traditions."
- Association of Black Women Historians
"The organization's goals are to support black women in the historical profession, disseminate information by, for, and about black women, and promote scholarship by and about black women. The newsletter, "Truth", informs members and numerous awards provide financial resources and recognition."
- International American Studies Association
"IASA is the only world-wide, independent, non-governmental association for Americanists. Furthering the international exchange of ideas and information among scholars from all nations and various disciplines who study and teach America regionally, hemispherically, nationally, and transnationally, IASA is registered in The Netherlands as a non-profit, international, educational organization with members in more than forty countries around the world."
- Organization of American Historians
"The Organization of American Historians is the largest learned society devoted to the study of American history."
- PEN American Center
"A global literary community protecting free expression and celebrating literature."
- Popular Culture Association / American Culture Association (PCA / ACA)
"The PCA/ACA is a group of scholars and enthusiasts, who study the popular culture--writing, sharing, and publishing in the field. The PCA/ACA offers a venue to come together and share ideas and interests about the field or about a particular subject within the field."
If you need additional help, please contact the reference librarian by coming by the Reference Desk, by calling 404-364-8506, or by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.