This is the "Online Tutorials about GALILEO" page of the "EDP Guide -- Using GALILEO" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EDP Guide -- Using GALILEO  

Last Updated: Nov 12, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.oglethorpe.edu/edp_galileo Print Guide RSS Updates

Online Tutorials about GALILEO Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is GALILEO?

GALILEO stands for Georgia Library Learning Online. GALILEO is essentially a portal through which you can access more than one hundred article databases. GALILEO's article databases prvide scholarly articles, magazines, news articles, and more!

GALILEO is a useful tool because you can conduct research from the comfort of your own home! 

You access GALILEO from the Library Homepage by clicking on the icon or links.

 

What is a Database?

Article databases provide access to information about magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals. Sometimes an article database only provides bibliographic (citation) information, while at other times one can access the full-text version of the article.

Aside from articles, databases may offer images, book chapters and reviews, and digitized materials. Examples of databases include Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, PsychINFO, and MLA International Bibliography.

 

 

Can't Find the Full-Text Article Online?

If you find an article citation that you like, but it is not available in full-text, try two things:

 

1. First check our Journal Finder. Type in the name of the Journal, not the title of the individual article. See if the particular issue you need is available in the physical library or in another online database.

2. If it is not available through our Journal Finder, try searching the title of the article in Google Scholar. Occasionally authors will make their writings available for free online.

 

If it is not available, we can Interlibrary Loan the material for you. This generally takes 3 - 5 business days if it is coming from within Georgia.

 

GALILEO Tutorials

 Most of these tutorials are produced by GALILEO and are linked to YouTube. They require sound. The tutorials on this page generally range from 2 to 5 minutes in length.

Two-Minute Tour of GALILEO

  • Start here! This is a good, short overview of GALILEO.
  • "A short overview of the GALILEO Scholar interface that introduces search options and other features for finding articles and journals."

Getting Better Results in GALILEO Search

  • "This tutorial covers strategies to refine or enlarge  your search to retrieve the best results."

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles in GALILEO

  • "Tutorial to help GALILEO users find scholarly or peer-reviewed articles in subscription databases."

Finding the Best Databases in GALILEO

  • "GALILEO is your portal to hundreds of databases containing articles, books, images, and more. This tutorial provides a few tips to help you make the best database choices for your needs."
 

GALILEO Tutorial without Sound

This tutorial is a written set of instructions to help guide one through GALILEO.

The Great GALILEO Tutorial

  •  "This unit walks you through GALILEO. What it is, what's in it, how to navigate it and how to search it to find what you need." This is written tutorial by USG includes images to illustrate instructions.
 

Tutorials to Help with Database Search Methods

 Some of these tutorials may require sound.

Using Boolean Operators - And, Or, Not

  • This Boolean searching tutorial gives you information on using And, Or, Not in database searches. Boolean Operators can help you expand your search and receive more results, or they can narrow your results. This tutorial is published by Colorado State University Libraries. 

Advanced Boolean Operators

  • This tutorial will further your knowledge of using Boolean Operators (And, Or, Not) to refine your searches within databases. Produced by Colorado State University Libraries.

Truncation Searching

  • Do you feel like you are not getting enough results in your database searching? You may need to try using truncation in your searching. This tutorial is produced by the Colorado State University Libraries.

Using Controlled Vocabularies for Better Search Results

  • This five minute tutorial explains controlled vocabularies of subject headings and how to use them in searching library catalogs and databases. Requires sound.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip