This is the "Researching Old Oglethorpe
University located in Midway, GA" page of the "Researching Old Oglethorpe University" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Researching Old Oglethorpe University  

Last Updated: Aug 25, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.oglethorpe.edu/oldoglethorpe Print Guide RSS Updates
Researching Old Oglethorpe University located in Midway, GA Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome and Recommendations

This guide is intended to give researchers and genealogists a starting point for researching subjects and persons related to Old Oglethorpe University, located in Midway, Georgia.

To begin researching Old Oglethorpe, we suggest the following courses of action (links for each resource in the right-hand column on this page):

  1. Consult Allen Tankersley's book 
  2. Conduct searches in the online Historic Georgia newspapers (try alternate spellings for names, as they are often misspelled)
  3. Review the Oglethorpe Archives Finding Aid

If you would like additional research assistance, please contact the Librarian (librarian@oglethorpe.edu).  

Oglethorpe University was the first denominational university chartered in the state of Georgia, and it was founded in 1835. The university closed in 1860 with the start of the Civil War, and it re-opened briefly in Atlanta between 1870-1872.

 

Consult "College Life at Old Oglethorpe" by Allen Tankersley

To begin your research on Old Oglethorpe University, consult with Dr. Allen P. Tankersley's comprehensive book, College Life at Old Oglethorpe (available full-text for free through GALILEO).

Towards the back of the book, he lists all of the graduates of Old Oglethorpe. We also recommend that you review the index at the back of the book for your subject or person of interest.

Cover Art
College Life at Old Oglethorpe - Allan P. Tankersley
Call Number: LD4191 .O462 T3 2009
ISBN: 9780820334530
This book is available for free online through GALILEO. If you are unsure of which version to select, choose the PDF version.

 

Conduct Searches in the Online Georgia Historic Newspapers

If you are conducting genealogical or a person search, please try alternative spellings to names, as often names are misspelled. Start with the Milledgeville newspapers, but we also included other archived local newspapers in case a person lived in other parts of Georgia. Please contact the librarian for assistance.

 

Milledgeville Historic Newspapers Archive    
This is one of the best resources to search for Old Oglethorpe University. "The Milledgeville Historic Newspapers Archive provides online access to eleven newspaper titles published in Milledgeville from 1808 to 1920. Consisting of over 49,000 newspaper pages, the archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date. Because Milledgeville served as the state capital from 1804 to 1868, during the antebellum, Civil War, and Reconstruction periods in the state's history, the site will provide researchers with particular historical insight into Georgia politics during the nineteenth century."

  

Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive    
"The Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive provides online access to fourteen newspaper titles published in Atlanta from 1847 to 1922. Consisting of over 67,000 newspaper pages, the archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date. The site will provide users with a record of Atlanta's history from its origins as a railroad terminus, through the devastation of the Civil War, to its eventual growth into one of the nation's largest cities."

                       

South Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive   
"The South Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive provides online access to six newspaper titles published in four south Georgia cities (Albany, Americus, Thomasville, and Valdosta) from 1845 to 1922. Consisting of over 81,000 newspaper pages, the archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date."

 

Athens Historic Newspapers Archive      
"The Athens Historic Newspapers Archive provides online access to five newspaper titles published in Athens from 1827 to 1922. Consisting of over 57,000 newspaper pages, the archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date. The site will provide users with a view into the history of Athens in its early years as the home to the first state-chartered university in the nation and its eventual growth into the largest city in northeast Georgia."

  

Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive      
"The Georgia Historic Newspapers database is an outgrowth of the Georgia Newspaper Project managed by the University of Georgia Libraries. Since the early 1950s the UGA Libraries have made a systematic effort to identify and obtain copies of every newspaper ever published in Georgia and to preserve these valuable historical resources on microfilm. The goal of the Georgia Historic Newspapers database is to convert every Georgia newspaper to digital format and to make this resource available free of charge as a searchable text database."

 

 

Review Oglethorpe Finding Aids

You can also consult the Old Oglethorpe University Finding Aid (MS 12), and contact the Librarian for assistance and/ or appointment. 

Access to the collection may be limited, as the collection is very small and in delicate condition. We do not have photographs of Old Oglethorpe University graduates.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip