This is the "GALILEO Tutorials" page of the "Online Tutorials - Help with GALILEO and Conducting Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Online Tutorials - Help with GALILEO and Conducting Research  

Last Updated: Nov 12, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.oglethorpe.edu/tutorials Print Guide RSS Updates

GALILEO Tutorials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

The tutorials on the following pages are intended to offer introductory information on research methods and searching article databases.

Begin by choosing the type of tutorial desired by clicking on the appropriate tabs above. These tutorials require sound.

Please Ask the Librarian for additional help or to schedule a research appointment.

 

What is GALILEO?

GALILEO stands for Georgia Library Learning Online. GALILEO is essentially a portal through which you can access more than one hundred article databases -- each of which can contain thousands of full-text articles and citations.

 

GALILEO Password

If you are off campus and cannot get access to GALILEO, see the GALILEO Password and Off-Campus Access page.

 

GALILEO Tutorials

 Most of these tutorials are produced by GALILEO and are linked to YouTube. They require sound.

Two-Minute Tour of GALILEO

  • "A short overview of the GALILEO Scholar interface that introduces search options and other features for finding articles and journals."

Getting Better Results in GALILEO Search

  • "This tutorial covers strategies to refine or enlarge  your search to retrieve the best results."

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles in GALILEO

  • "Tutorial to help GALILEO users find scholarly or peer-reviewed articles in subscription databases."

Finding the Best Databases in GALILEO

  • "GALILEO is your portal to hundreds of databases containing articles, books, images, and more. This tutorial provides a few tips to help you make the best database choices for your needs."

The Great GALILEO Tutorial

  •  "This unit walks you through GALILEO. What it is, what's in it, how to navigate it and how to search it to find what you need." This is written tutorial by USG includes images to illustrate instructions.

Tutorials on Specific Databases in GALILEO

Need help with a particular database? Try one of these tutorials. If you are off campus, some of these tutorials require the GALILEO password.

  • JSTOR Tutorial
    How to search JSTOR.
  • Business Source Complete Basic Searching
    This three minute tutorial demonstrates basic searching in Business Source Complete.
  • Business Source Complete Thesaurus Tutorial
    A four minute tutorial that describes how to utilize the thesaurus function to find subject terms for more effective searches in Business Source Complete.
  • ERIC Basic Searching
    This four minute tutorial explains basic searching in ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center).
  • ERIC Thesaurus Tutorial
    This tutorial demonstrates thesaurus searching in ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center). The thesaurus can be a powerful way to find articles.
  • MEDLINEplus Introduction
    MEDLINEplus is published by the National Library of Medicine and contains reliable information on medical-related conditions and treatments. This
  • PubMed Tutorial
    This tutorial helps one to understand PubMed's scope and content and how the MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) vocabulary is used to describe and retrieve citations.
  • PsycINFO
    This four minute tutorial demonstrates basic searching, subject headings, and the folder system in PsycINFO.
  • PsycINFO Thesaurus Tutorial
    A two minute tutorial that shows how to use the thesaurus function in PsycINFO to find subject headings useful to your searches.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip