This is the "Food for Thought Workshops" page of the "Food for Thought: Research and Library Workshops at OU" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Food for Thought: Research and Library Workshops at OU  

Last Updated: Oct 21, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.oglethorpe.edu/workshops Print Guide RSS Updates
Food for Thought Workshops Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Food for Thought: Research and Library Workshops at OU, Fall 2013


Food for Thought: Research and Library Workshops at OU

Learn new research and finding skills from the “Champions of Research,” your OU neighborhood librarians, while enjoying some delectable snacks in our Food for Thought workshop series. These 1 hour user-friendly sessions are designed to get your cognitive juices flowing!  Meet us for each one at the reference computers in the Reference Commons Area on the 1st floor of the library.  Any change of venue will be noted below

 

Wednesday, October 9th @ 1pm - 2pm --  Researching Political, International History and International Studies Topics:  An Introduction
Are you taking a Politics, International Studies or History class and want to pinpoint reputable resources for your paper? Are you majoring in any of these disciplines and hungry for new building blocks and tools for your on-going research? Come then and learn from this introductory session about identifying scholarly journal articles, pertinent books, reliable websites, and electronic library research guides for finding and analyzing data for your classes. This session, as promised, will conclude with light refreshments and conversation.
   -  Worth 1 AEI Petrel Point

 

Wednesday, October 16th @ 1pm - 2pm  --  Researching with GALILEO Discover Search
We will be introducing the new Discover GALILEO tool, the latest way to search and retrieve content from GALILEO’s hundred+ databases, digital collections, and beyond. We will discuss Boolean searching for making the most of your searches, and we will help you learn to navigate through and narrow down your search results. This will be a hands-on class, so feel free to bring any research questions you have!  The session will conclude with some light refreshments.
   -  Worth 1 AEI Petrel Point

 

Wednesday, October 23rd @ 1pm - 2pm  --  Researching for Art and Art History Topics
Are you taking an Art, Art and Culture, or Art History class and want a recipe for finding reputable resources for your paper? Are you majoring in any of these disciplines and hungry for new building blocks and Image database tools such as CAMIO (Catalog of Art and Museum Images Online) for your on-going research? Come then and learn from this artistic introductory session about identifying scholarly journal articles, pertinent books, specialized databases, and electronic library research guides for finding and analyzing data for your classes.   As promised, this session will conclude with light refreshments and conversation.
   -  Worth 1 AEI Petrel Point

 

<CANCELLED UNTIL A LATER DATE> Wednesday, October 30th@ 1pm - 2pm  --  Exclusive and Inclusive Services / Collections of the Library

WE SINCERELEY APLOGIZE, BUT THIS WORKSHOP WILL BE RE-SCHEDULED FOR A LATER DATE, TBA.  Due to a campus-wide meeting, this particular Food for Thought workshop will not take place at this time.  Please check back for this workshop.

Have you wondered about the cool collections and services the Philip Weltner Library offers? Come witness this behind the scenes tour – introducing you to our staff, familiarizing you with our daily special services, and acquainting you with our menu of research offerings. You will be treated to some fun facts about the library and the campus and then a special opportunity to view Oglethorpe’s exclusive digital, historical and primary collections. We will highlight our Archives and special and digital collections as the main course. Then we will top it all off with an insider’s view of OJUR (Oglethorpe Journal of Undergraduate Research).  This tour may leave you cognitively “thirsting” for more but as promised it will conclude with some light refreshments.
   -  Worth 1 AEI Petrel Point



Wednesday,  November 6th @ 1pm - 2pm  --  Communication, Rhetoric, and Research: Finding Sources for Contemporary Trends & Current Events
Are you taking a Communication, rhetoric, writing, psychology or debate class and want to pinpoint reputable resources on current events for your paper? Are you majoring in any of these disciplines and hungry for new building blocks (e.g. Opposing Viewpoints in Context database) and news service database tools such as LEXIS NEXIS for your on-going research? Come then and learn from this contemporary introductory session about identifying news articles, reports, scholarly information, reliable websites, specialized databases, and electronic library research guides for finding and analyzing data for your classes. As promised, this session will conclude with light refreshments and conversation.
   -  Worth 1 AEI Petrel Point

 


Wednesday, November 13th @ 1pm - 2pm:  Citing with Chicago Style

We will help you understand the fundamentals of citing with the Chicago-Humanities Style. Plagiarism is a serious academic offense, so come to this session to avoid plagiarism and learn strategies for your writing and citing practices. There will be hands-on activities, and feel free to bring your questions. The session will conclude with some light refreshments and conversation.
  -  Worth 1 AEI Petrel Point

 

Wednesday, November 20th @ 1pm - 2pm:  Citing with APA Style
We will help you understand the fundamentals of citing with the APA Style. Plagiarism is a serious academic offense, so come to this session to avoid plagiarism and learn strategies for your writing and citing practices. There will be hands-on activities, and feel free to bring your questions. The session will conclude with some light refreshments and conversation.
  -  Worth 1 AEI Petrel Point

 

Food For Thought

Image of "Coffee and Books 5" used with permission;  by Courtney Noffsinger.

If you have questions about these sessions, please email:  librarian@oglethorpe.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip