Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single gateway, users can access and cross-search Oxford’s acclaimed, regularly updated art reference works: the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Grove Art is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, offering global coverage of visual culture, composed and expanded in collaboration with thousands of scholars and specialists around the world. Benezit offers unique information about the sale and collection of artists’ work, and it is one of the most comprehensive and definitive resources of artists’ biographies available. In addition, users can search and access Oxford art reference titles including the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Arts & Humanities Database includes both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
Help you develop a more effective search.
Combines multiple words in a search. This helps you narrow your results.
Separates terms, often used for synonyms to give you more options for your search terms.
Eliminates words for a search. Useful for getting rid of results you do not want.
" " - Use direct quotes to keep a phrase, name, or title together.
* - Use an asterisk to truncate a word to provide multiple ending options for your search term.
Also called limiters, these are used to tell the database exactly what type of results you want.
