Research Guides: Communication Studies: Finding Sources

Search Library Catalog and GALILEO

Library Catalog
GALILEO

Specialized Resources

AdViews
A digital archive of thousands of television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s. A project of the Duke University Library.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 460 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 660 titles.
JSTOR
The library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, and Business IV collections. JSTOR provides access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The complete backfiles of these journals have been digitized, many of which began in the 1800s. JSTOR's agreement with publishers includes an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall." The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.
Media History Digital Library
A free online archive of digitized media industry trade papers and fan magazine
Open Access Communication Journals
Comprehensive list of open access communication journals with links, maintained by International Association for Media and Communication Research.
Points of View Reference Souce
Points of View Reference Source contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue. This database provides content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.

To browse books pertaining to Communication Studies, refer to the following Library of Congress Classification (LCC) subclasses. These codes mark the beginning of the call number on each book’s spine and help you locate materials on the shelves by subject.

Subclass	Subject
HF5717-5734.7	Business communication (Including business report writing, business correspondence)
HF5801-6182	Advertising
HM(1)-1281	Sociology
HN1-995	Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform
J	Political science
KF	Law of the United States
P87-96	Communication. Mass media
P94.7	Interpersonal communication
P95-95.6	Oral communication. Speech
PN1990-1992.92	Broadcasting
PN1993-1999	Motion pictures
PN4699-5650	Journalism. The periodical press, etc.
Z116-659	Book industries and trade

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO)
The eBook Academic Collection from EBSCO contains a selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. All titles are available with unlimited user access.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks. New titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build collections that meet the needs of their community of researchers.

The New York Times
Live news, investigations, opinion, photos and video by the journalists of The New York Times from more than 150 countries around the world.

Oglethorpe students, faculty, and staff have access to the content on The New York Times website. Follow these sign-up instructions:

Visit https://www.nytimes.com/activate-access/edu-access.
Search and select Oglethorpe University.
Click Create Account. Be sure to use your Oglethorpe email address to sign up.
If you already have an account linked to your Oglethorpe email, click Log in next to Already have an account.
You will receive a confirmation email. Follow the instructions there to verify your account.

The Wall Street Journal
WSJ online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world.

Oglethorpe students, faculty, and staff have access to the content on The Wall Street Journal website. Follow these sign-up instructions:

Visit https://partner.wsj.com/enter-redemption-code/OGLEf5uhh80j.
Use your Oglethorpe email to create an account.
You will receive a confirmation email. Follow the instructions there to verify your account.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan Services
Oglethorpe University students, faculty, and staff may obtain materials from other libraries through Interlibrary Services.
To request an item, please use the buttons below to submit the appropriate form for the item type.