Ancient Astronomy and Celestial Divination by 
Peer-reviewed resources have been vetted by experts within the field. Work is submitted to a journal, returned with notes and edit suggestions, then re-submitted and either accepted or rejected. Because of this process, these articles are more trusted. When your professor says scholarly, peer-reviewed resources this is what they mean.
On this page you will find recommended databases that provide peer-reviewed content. There are filters to help you with this process, but it is always best to double check that a journal is actually peer-reviewed. Go directly to that journal's website and they will tell you.
Popular resources are more general than others. They have a wider target audience, use simpler language, and are not published in academic journals.
Examples are:
Reference materials provide overviews and quick facts on topics. Often, they have an index.
These materials include your textbooks and encyclopedias. On occasion, these can include government publications.
The library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, and Business IV collections. JSTOR provides access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The complete backfiles of these journals have been digitized, many of which began in the 1800s. JSTOR's agreement with publishers includes an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall." The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
