Research Guides: English and Comparative Literature: Finding Sources

Search Library Catalog and GALILEO

Library Catalog
GALILEO

Specialized Resources

JSTOR
The library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, and Business IV collections. JSTOR provides access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The complete backfiles of these journals have been digitized, many of which began in the 1800s. JSTOR's agreement with publishers includes an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall." The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.
Literary Reference Source Plus
Literary Reference Source is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
From the Modern Language Association (MLA) and EBSCO, this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and usage of 500,000 words and phrases past and present, from across the English-speaking world.
ProQuest One Literature
ProQuest One Literature is a comprehensive destination for the study of literature across the curriculum. It provides unmatched content and tools to support the study of literature from a variety of sources including diverse primary texts, criticism, full-text journals, book reviews, dissertations, eBooks, reference material, audio, and video.

To browse books in Language and Literature, refer to the following Library of Congress Classification (LCC) subclasses. These codes mark the beginning of the call number on each book’s spine and help you locate materials on the shelves by subject.

Subclass	Subject
P	Philology. Linguistics
PA	Greek language and literature. Latin language and literature
PB	Modern languages. Celtic languages
PC	Romance languages
PD	Germanic languages. Scandinavian languages
PE	English language
PF	West Germanic languages
PG	Slavic languages. Baltic languages. Albanian language
PH	Uralic languages. Basque language
PJ	Oriental languages and literatures
PK	Indo-Iranian languages and literatures
PL	Languages and literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania
PM	Hyperborean, Indian, and artificial languages
PN	Literature (General)
PQ	French literature - Italian literature - Spanish literature - Portuguese literature
PR	English literature
PS	American literature
PT	German literature - Dutch literature - Flemish literature since 1830 - Afrikaans literature - Scandinavian literature - Old Norse literature: Old Icelandic and Old Norwegian - Modern Icelandic literature - Faroese literature - Danish literature - Norwegian literature - Swedish literature
PZ	Fiction and juvenile belles lettres

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO)
The eBook Academic Collection from EBSCO contains a selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. All titles are available with unlimited user access.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks. New titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build collections that meet the needs of their community of researchers.
Literary Reference Source eBook Subscription
The EBSCO Literary Reference Source eBook Subscription provides a rich collection of resources focused on literature and literary criticism. This collection encompasses a wide range of materials from classic texts to contemporary literary analysis, covering various genres, authors, and literary movements. Designed to support both students and scholars, the collection offers in-depth discussions, critical essays, and biographical information that enhance understanding and appreciation of literary works. The content, sourced from respected publishers, is authoritative and ideal for research, teaching, and general exploration of literary themes and contexts.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan Services
Oglethorpe University students, faculty, and staff may obtain materials from other libraries through Interlibrary Services.
To request an item, please use the buttons below to submit the appropriate form for the item type.