Film and Media Studies

A digital archive of thousands of television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s. A project of the Duke University Library.

The AFI Catalog is a comprehensive, authoritative resource documenting the history of American cinema, encompassing films produced in the U.S. or by American companies, from 1893 to the present, with a focus on films 40 minutes or longer.

Arts & Humanities Database includes both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies, and the subject strengths of the collection are:
• Art, design, crafts and photography
• Archaeology, anthropology and classical studies
• Architecture, interior design and urban planning
• History, philosophy, geography and religion
• Modern languages and literature
• Music, theatre, film and cultural studies
• The contents reflect the full interdisciplinary of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies.

Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 460 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 660 titles.

The library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, and Business IV collections. JSTOR provides access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The complete backfiles of these journals have been digitized, many of which began in the 1800s. JSTOR's agreement with publishers includes an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall." The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.

A free online archive of digitized media industry trade papers and fan magazine

The eBook Academic Collection from EBSCO contains a selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. All titles are available with unlimited user access.

Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks. New titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build collections that meet the needs of their community of researchers.