This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. As of February 2016, the Directory contains 11,280 journals, of which 7,015 are searchable on the article level.
The library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, and Business IV collections. JSTOR provides access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The complete backfiles of these journals have been digitized, many of which began in the 1800s. JSTOR's agreement with publishers includes an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall." The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) provides open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
An Open Access reference work, maintained and kept up to date to academics, and subject to peer review before publication. New research is added regularly, whilst older entries are archived. A valuable and popular resource, but be aware of inconsistencies.
Use the search box below to search for books and eBooks in OU's library catalog.
Digitized Books
The eBook Academic Collection from EBSCO contains a selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Over 119,000 titles are included in this package, and titles are added to the package each month at no additional cost. All titles are available with unlimited user access.
From a single interface, researchers can access over 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers. On average, 100,000 newly published titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build dynamic collections that meet the unique needs of their community of researchers.
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Addressing topics and figures as diverse as Gothic Fiction and Arabic Philosophy, WB Yeats and Martin Luther, the online collection contains over 4000 downloadable essays, taken from over 600 Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics; Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and Music.
To sign up for the New York Times:
Step 1: Visit to www.accessnyt.com
Step 2: Search and select "Oglethorpe University" (you will be redirected to the NYT registration page)
Step 3: Click "Create Account" and complete fields; you must use your oglethorpe.edu email (if you already have an account linked to your Oglethorpe email address, click "Already have an account")
Step 4: Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email)
(You have access to all of the NYT apps, too.)
To sign up for the Wall Street Journal:
Step 1: Visit https://partner.wsj.com/enter-redemption-code/OGLEf5uhh80j
Step 2: Choose your category and enter your name and Oglethorpe email address
Step 3: Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email)
(You have access to the WSJ app, too.)
To sign up for the Chronicle of Higher Education:
Step 1: Visit http://www.chronicle.com
Step 2: If you don’t have an account, create an account with your Oglethorpe email address and follow instructions
Step 3: If you do have an account, simply log in and it should sync with our access