Public Relations

In Reputation Management: The Future of Corporate Communications and Public Relations, Tony Langham argues that reputation management is the future incarnation of public relations and corporate communications. Featuring specially commissioned essays, as well as exclusive interviews with leading CEOs, influencers and celebrities, the book covers issues as diverse as fake news, AI, James Bond, cyber security and internet bullying.

This book draws significant new meaning to the inter-relationships of public relations and social change through a number of activist case studies, and rebuilds knowledge around alternative communicative practices that are ethical, sustainable, and effective.

This volume provides a critical look at public relations practice, utilizing case studies from public relations, advertising, and marketing to illustrate the deconstruction and analysis of public relations campaigns. Author Thomas J. Mickey uses a cultural studies approach and demonstrates how it can be used as a critical theory for public relations practice, offering real-world examples to support his argument.

Although there is a small body of feminist scholarship that problematizes gender in public relations, gender is a relatively undefined area of thinking in the field and there have been few serious studies of the socially constructed roles defining women and men in public relations. This book is positioned within the critical public relations stream.

Contemporary public relations practice has developed over the last several decades from the weak third sister in marketing, advertising, and public relations mix to a full player. To help you keep up to speed with the exciting changes and developments of publications, this book has been updated to provide you with the necessary understanding of the problems and promises of public relations research, measurement, and evaluation.

The practice and study of public relations has grown significantly within Europe over the past decade, yet as a discipline, it remains a relatively unexplored field. This volume of papers brings together contributions from some of the leading international public relations academics and practitioners who provide valuable insights into the theories underpinning current public relations thinking and practice, and illustrate the diversity of perspectives that characterize this evolving area.

The AMA Handbook of Public Relations is written to help professionals merge their traditional and Web-based campaigns while protecting their clients, companies, and themselves against harmful attention.

The Public Relations Handbook is a comprehensive and detailed introduction to the theories and practices of the public relations industry. It traces the history and development of public relations, explores ethical issues which affect the industry, examines its relationship with politics, lobbying organizations and journalism, assesses its professionalism and regulation and advises on training and entry into the profession.

The Public Relations Firm takes an in-depth look at the client/agency relationship by discussing what business leaders should expect of their public relations firms. It discusses how and why they should pick an agency along with the types of firms at their disposal.

Creative input is inevitably required of the PR practitioner and yet there is a lack of real understanding of the mechanics of the processes involved. Creativity in Public Relations seeks to address this situation and explores the five'Is'of the creative process, showing you techniques for stimulating and evaluating ideas and obstacles to creativity. This fully updated third edition also includes two new chapters on the use of social media and creativity, and creativity and memes.

The second edition of the Public Relations Writer's Handbook offers a simple, step-by-step approach to creating a wide range of writing, from basic news releases, pitch letters, biographies, and media alerts, to more complex and sophisticated speeches, media campaign proposals, crisis responses, and in-house publications. In addition, the thoroughly expanded and updated second edition shows how to keep up with the best practices of the public relations profession, as well as with the speed made possible and required by the digital age.

Addresses the means by which you can establish a return on investment for your online efforts, and it suggests various tactical tools to use to implement your strategy.

Public Relations: The Basics is a highly readable introduction to one of the most exciting and fast-paced media industries. Both the practice and profession of public relations are explored and the focus is on those issues which will be most relevant to those new to the field: The four key phases of public relations campaigns: research, strategy, tactics and evaluation.

When initially published in 2005, the two-volume Encyclopedia of Public Relations was the first and most authoritative compilation of the subject. It remains the sole reference source for any library serving patrons in business, communication, and journalism as it explores the evolution of the field with examples describing the events, changing practices, and key figures who developed and expanded the profession.

This fully updated fourth edition of John Foster's book is a hands-on, practical guide to writing style for students and others entering the PR industry. It will also be valuable for those already employed in the public relations profession and for those who earn their living using their writing skills. This book offers advice on the basic principles of grammar as well as covering essential editing skills.

With over 40,000 new blogs created daily, blogging is changing the shape of business and personal communications. This companion to E-Mail Rules and Instant Messaging Rules covers the legal and business risks of corporate blogs, employee rights, regulatory issues and more, and includes best-practice policies to help companies use this effective tool safely.

The internet has totally revolutionized the practice of public relations. This revolution has not only affected the way PR professionals communicate but has changed the nature of communication itself. This thoroughly revised second edition of Online Public Relations shows readers how to use this potent and energizing medium intelligently and effectively, with an eye toward social media.

Public relations is operating in an increasingly challenging and complex environment. Pressures from outside the organisation include new accountabilities, empowered stakeholders, increased public cynicism and a new communication landscape. Internally, there are increasing demands to demonstrate a return on investment, alongside a requirement to coach and counsel senior managers exposed to these environmental pressures. This context requires public relations professionals to be able to clearly articulate and demonstrate their own contribution to organisational effectiveness.

Today's Public Relations: An Introduction is a comprehensive text that features all aspects of public relations with specific sensitivity to the message strategies that challenge practitioners to be successful, yet ethical. In this book, authors Robert L. Heath and W. Timothy Coombs redefine the teaching of public relations by discussing its connection to mass communication while linking it to its rhetorical heritage.

Social media is becoming part of the fabric of our lives, and its effect on public relations is the single biggest topic of conversation in the PR industry. €Rob Brown explores the way the internet is changing the field of communications and looks at the implications for a range of fields, from entertainment to politics. It examines emerging public relations practices in the digital environment - including blogs, wikis, RSS, social networking, and SEO - and shows readers how digital public relations campaigns can be structured.

In the second edition of their award-winning book, W. Timothy Coombs and Sherry J. Holladay provide a broad and thorough look at the field of public relations in the world today and assess its positive and negative impact on society's values, knowledge, and perceptions. Provides a broad and thorough look at the field of public relations in the world today and assesses its positive and negative impact on society's values, knowledge, and perceptionsUses a range of global, contemporary examples, from multi-national corporations through to the non-profit sector.