The archives of Oglethorpe University provide students, faculty, and approved visitors access to documents, records, and publications of enduring value relating to the growth and development of the University from its beginnings in Midway, Georgia in 1835 to the present. These include primary sources that can be used for research and education.
The Society of American Archivists defines provenance as:
"The fundamental principle of archives, referring to the individual, family, or organization that created or received the items in a collection. The principle of provenance or the respect des fonds dictates that records of different origins (provenance) be kept separate to preserve their context."
Every collection in the archives at Oglethorpe is organized according to provenance. The provenance of each collection provies the history of that collection like who organized it, how it was organized, and how it changed over time.
A finding aid describes the context and structure of an archival resource. It is a document about the collection that tells the user how the items in the collection were acquired and processed, the provenance of the collection, the collection's history, and scope of the collection. It also serves as an inventory of the collection, listing the series, folders, boxes, and sometimes individual items.
In an archive, access is the permission required to locate and retrieve information from that archive. It details any legal restrictions or security clearance.
The collections include manuscripts, records, photographs, University publications, rare books, journals, and artifacts related to the history of the University and its traditions. They range from 19th century records, pamphlets, notebooks, and correspondence dating from the “Old College,” to the more substantial materials which document the refounding of the University in Atlanta in 1913 and its development to the present day. Included are the following:
Manuscripts: The Archives houses papers of many of its past presidents, including those of Thornwell Jacobs (1915-1943), who was responsible for the refounding of the University and of Philip Weltner (1944-1953), prominent lawyer, civic-minded citizen, and educator whose educational philosophy and ideology distinguish the University’s liberal arts curriculum to this day.
Additional collections focus on primary and secondary sources related to the life and times of General James Edward Oglethorpe, founder of the colony of Georgia and namesake of the University; to alumnus Sidney Lanier, the distinguished southern poet; and to the Crypt of Civilization, the extraordinary 20th century time capsule conceived by Thornwell Jacobs.
University Publications: The collections include University bulletins, catalogs, brochures, pamphlets, the yearbook, Yamacraw (1920-2004), student news and literary publications, including The Oglethorpe Times (1916), The Petrel, The Stormy Petrel (1919 to 2004), and The Tower (1974-2004), as well as alumni publications, including The Flying Petrel (1944-2003).
Photographs: An extensive photograph collection featuring visiting dignitaries, students, faculty, alumni, clubs, organizations, buildings, and events is in processing and will be available for research and reproduction. Please also visit our Digital Photograph Collections website.