Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Genetics: Selected Reference Titles

What Are Reference Books?

Reference books and information are great places to look when beginning your research. Reference materials provide reliable background information and facts upon which you can build your research.

Online Reference Sources

For online reference sources, try these databases, which contain background information on scientific topics:

 

Medline Plus   
"MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from The National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations."

 

Consumer Health Complete    
"Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, men and women's health, and more."

 

Encyclopædia Britannica  
"The Encyclopædia Britannica database includes thousands of articles from the printed Encyclopædia Britannica, including thousands more that are not found in the print set. The resource also includes year-in-review articles from recent yearbooks, The Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. Most articles are brief or of moderate length and discuss people, places, institutions, things, or concepts. Longer articles are divided into separate sections for easier access and more accurate searching."

 

The Merck Manuals    
"The Merck Manuals have been standard medical reference sources for over 100 years providing detailed information on virtually all disorders, complete with discussion of symptoms and current therapy. Online manuals include: The Merck Manual-Home Edition, Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, Manual of Health and Aging, Manual of Geriatrics, and Veterinary Manual."

 

National Academies Press Books    
"This website provides free access to more than 4,000 books and science textbooks. Some require payment, but many you can read for free. Among the subjects covered are Earth Science, Energy Conservation, Health and Medicine, Math, Chemistry, and Physics."