History

• History Reference Center (EBSCOhost) 

  History Reference Center is a full-text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video.

• Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest) 

  Arts & Humanities Database includes both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.

• JSTOR 

  The library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, and Business IV collections. JSTOR provides access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The complete backfiles of these journals have been digitized, many of which began in the 1800s. JSTOR's agreement with publishers includes an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall." The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.

Modern (post 1800)

• The American Presidency Project

  An archive containing thousands of documents relating to the Presidency of the United States from the late eighteenth-century to the present day, including Presidential papers and messages.

• Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality

  A selection of primary source documents, made freely available by Proquest, regarding critical people and events in African American history from 1790 to the contemporary era.

• Biographical Dictionary of the United States Congress 1774-Present

  Searchable directory of the biographies of members of the US Congress from 1774 to present.

Medieval History

Internet Medieval Sourcebook 
The Internet History Sourcebooks are wonderful collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use by Paul Halsall. The site and its documents are well organized and the breadth of materials is impressive. The Internet Medieval Sourcebook is organized as three main index pages, with a number of supplementary documents. There is an index of selected and excerpted texts for teaching purposes, a help page on use of the Sourcebook for research questions, a section devoted to secondary articles, texts on the history of law, copy-permitted maps and images, a guide to medieval-themed films and music, and more. The Sourcebooks are unevenly maintained, so expect some broken links.

To sign up for the New York Times:

Step 1: Visit to www.accessnyt.com

Step 2: Search and select "Oglethorpe University" (you will be redirected to the NYT registration page)

Step 3: Click "Create Account" and complete fields; you must use your oglethorpe.edu email (if you already have an account linked to your Oglethorpe email address, click "Already have an account")

Step 4: Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email)

(You have access to all of the NYT apps, too.)

To sign up for the Wall Street Journal:

Step 1: Visit https://partner.wsj.com/enter-redemption-code/OGLEf5uhh80j

Step 2: Choose your category and enter your name and Oglethorpe email address

Step 3: Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email)

(You have access to the WSJ app, too.)

To sign up for the Chronicle of Higher Education:

Step 1: Visit http://www.chronicle.com  

Step 2: If you don’t have an account, create an account with your Oglethorpe email address and follow instructions

Step 3: If you do have an account, simply log in and it should sync with our access