Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

German: Find Articles

Can't Find the Full-Text Article Online?

If you find an article citation that you like, but it is not available in full-text, try:

  1. First check our Journal Finder. Type in the name of the Journal, not the title of the individual article. See if the particular issue you need is available in print at the library or in a database.

  2. If it is not available through our Journal Finder, try searching the title of the article in Google Scholar. Occasionally authors will make their writings available for free online.

  3. If it is not available, we can Interlibrary Loan the material for you. This generally takes 3-5 business days if it is coming from within Georgia.

Off-Campus Access

If you are off campus and need access to GALILEO, see the GALILEO Password and Off-Campus Access page.

Many of the links on these pages go to subscription resources which are restricted to Oglethorpe students, faculty, and staff. To access these resources from off-campus you need the GALILEO password.

Recommended Article Databases

Try searching at least 3 or 4 article databases. If you are unsuccessful, try synonyms for your search terms. Also, experiment with the drop-down box next to the search fields -- try searching by full-text, then title. Please contact the librarian for assistance.

 

Academic Search Complete    
"Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals."

  

JSTOR    
"JSTOR provides access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The complete backfiles of these journals have been digitized, many of which began in the 1800s."

 

Literary Reference Center    
"Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 430 literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; full text of over 7,000 classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures."

 

MLA International Bibliography    
"The MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers."

 

Project Muse    
"Project MUSE offers over 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others."

 

Research Library (ProQuest)    
"Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers."

 

Discover GALILEO

If you prefer a meta-search, try Discover GALILEO. It searches across most of GALILEO's databases at one time.